Understanding INTASC standards

In year 1987, INTASC was formed which stands for Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium. It was made up of the national education organizations and state education agencies. The prime goal of INTASC is to reform the licensing, preparation and professional development of teachers. This is mainly based on the idea that the well trained teacher should integrate content knowledge with the requirements of students and specific strengths to make sure that all students are able to learn and perform well at the higher levels. In order to achieve these goals, INTASC has created ten different standards for novice teachers. It must be noted that INTASC standards were developed by keeping in view the advanced certification standards of National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. These are the standards which are used to obtain national teaching certification. They offer an in-depth view of the skills which should be demonstrated by new teachers. They are developed to act as a representative of the characteristics which novice teachers must have to become a successful teacher in classroom.

The new teachers must strive to meet these standards. Below mentioned is the extract of INTASC standards:

Standard 1: Content Pedagogy

He or she must understand the central concept and structure of discipline must be created in such a way that students can learn from it effectively.

Standard 2: Student Development

The teacher must be able to understand the student’s ability to grasp things and must come up with the methods that can offer better personality development of the students.

Standard 3: Diverse Learners

The teacher must know that the students have different capabilities of learning and based on that must train them.

Standard 4: Multiple Instructional strategies

The teacher must be able to understand and use a variety of instructional strategies so that they are able to solve problems, think critically and show better performance.

Standard 5:  Management and motivation

The teacher must be able to understand individuals and create a learning environment to encourage positive social interactions, self-motivation and active learning engagement.

Standard 6: Technology and Communication

The teacher should use verbal, non-verbal and media communication to impart knowledge in the students for their better understanding of the subject matter.

Standard 7: Planning

It is highly recommended that the teacher must be able to plan various things for students such as curriculum, community and students and knowledge of subject matter.

Standard 8: Assessment

The teacher assesses the students formally or informally to evaluate the social, intellectual and physical development of the students.

Standard 9: Reflective Practice: Professional Development

The teacher is considered as a reflective practitioner who can evaluate the effects of the choices and actions on others and prepares students to face world professionally as well.

Standard 10: School and community Involvement

The last standard of INTASC standards is to develop the relationship amongst students, colleagues, society, parents and various other agencies to support learning and well being.

Above mentioned is the overview of standards developed by INTASC. For more detailed information; you can visit the websites on the internet.